The deadline to file papers was at 5 pm tonight at the clerks office.
Ten qualified candidates with 100 approved signatures from registered voters in the city made it to the November ballot. Those candidates are incumbents Dale Francisco, Michael Self and Randy Rowse. The qualified challengers are Sebastian Aldana, Cruzito Cruz, Iya Falcone, Gerald Matteo, Cathy Murillo, Deborah Schwartz, and Sharon Byrne. The city has voted in favor or a mail ballot election in November for this race, which will save thousands of dollars in costs. A candidates forum has already been announced. It takes place Friday August 19, at the Fess Parker Doubletree Hotel. The moderator will be former City Council member Phil Bugay.